Former members of the Auditory Engineering Lab:

Michael Wirtzfeld, Ph.D. (e-mail: michael.wirtzfeld@gmail.com)
  • Completed Ph.D. in ECE; Project: Model-based speech intelligibility and quality predictors
  • Now a Biomedical Research Engineer at Vivosonic Inc., Tornoto
Jason Boulet, Ph.D. (web site: https://www.linkedin.com/in/jasonboulet/?ppe=1; e-mail: jason.boulet@gmail.com)
  • Completed Ph.D. in Neuroscience; Project: Biophysical and stochastic-process models of cochlear implant stimulation
  • Now a Senior Data Scientist at Savormetrics Inc.& Nanolytix Inc., Mississauga
Dana Swarbrick (web site: http://www.glse.utoronto.ca/dana-swarbrick-rehabilitation-sciences-institute)
  • Undergrad (Psychology - Music Cognition) student; Project: Analysis of live music recordings in the LIVELab.
  • Now a Masters student at the University of Toronto
Stephanie Cheung (http://research.hollandbloorview.ca/ResearchCentresLabs/PEARLlab/People/StephanieCheung)
  • Completed M.A.Sc. in ECE; Project: Physiological modelling of ILD processing for linked and unlinked bilateral hearing aids
  • Now a Ph.D. student at the University of Toronto Institute of Biomaterials & Biomedical Engineering
Spencer Chambers (web site: https://www.schulich.uwo.ca/plasticsurgery/people/bio/chambers_spencer.html)
  • Summer undergraduate research student; Project: Biophysical modelling of synaptic transmission and spike generation at the IHC-AN synapse
  • Now a Resident in Plastic & Reconstructive Surgery at Western University, London, Ontario
Rasha A. Ibrahim, Ph.D. (http://scholar.cu.edu.eg/?q=rasha_ibrahim/)
  • Completed Ph.D. in ECE; Project: Contributions of envelope and temporal-fine-structure cues in speech intelligibility
  • Now an Assistant Professor in the Department of Engineering Mathematics and Physics, Cairo University, Egypt
Timothy J. Zeyl, Ph.D. (https://www.linkedin.com/in/timzeyl)
  • Completed M.A.Sc. in ECE; Project: Model-based hearing aid algorithms
  • Now a Senior Engineer in Big Data Research Team at the Huawei Technologies, Canada Research Centre, Markham, ON
Stephen Vetsis (https://www.linkedin.com/in/stephen-vetsis-54104b20 )
  • Completed M.A.Sc. in ECE; Project: Modeling of the effects of hearing loss on neural responses in the auditory brainstem
  • Now a Regulatory Policy Analyst at the Ontario Energy Board, Toronto, ON
Mohamed H. Negm (https://www.linkedin.com/in/mohamed-negm-39aa0b16)
  • Completed M.A.Sc. in BME; Project: Models of stochastic ion channel gating for cochlear implant stimulation
  • Now a Certifier in the CSA Group, Toronto, ON
Faheem Dinath (https://www.linkedin.com/in/faheemdinath)
  • Completed M.A.Sc. in BME; Project: Model-based hearing aid amplification schemes
  • Now a Finance Project Manager, Rogers Communications, Brampton, ON
Benedict Leung
  • Completed M.Eng. in Elec. & Biomed. Eng.; Project: Physiological assessment of hearing aid compression schemes
M. S. Arefeen Zilany, Ph.D. (Zilany)
  • Completed Ph.D. and Postdoctoral Fellowship in ECE; Project: Normal and impaired models of the auditory periphery
  • Now an Assistant Professor, University of Hail, Saudi Arabia
Melissa Perri (https://www.linkedin.com/in/melissa-perri-5698b316)
  • NSERC Undergraduate Summer Research Award student; Project: Algorithms for modelling stochastic ion channel gating
  • Now a Regulartory & Compliance Manager at Cloud DX, Waterloo, Ontario
Jeff Bondy, Ph.D. (https://ca.linkedin.com/in/jeff-bondy-0941484)
  • Completed Ph.D. in ECE; Project: Modeling auditory perception in normal and hearing-impaired listeners
  • Now the Principal Engineer, Cortex Designs Inc., Toronto, ON
Naomi Harte, Ph.D. (https://www.tcd.ie/research/profiles/?profile=nharte)
  • Postdoctoral Fellow; Project: Combining frequency shaping and compression in hearing aids
  • Now an Associate Professor in the Department of Electronic & Electrical Engineering, Trinity College, Dublin, Ireland
Shahabuddin (Shahab) Ansari, Ph.D.
  • Completed M.A.Sc. in ECE; Project: Combining frequency shaping and compression in hearing aids
  • Now a Research Associate in the Faculty of Computer Science and Engineering at the GIK Institute of Engineering Sciences and Technology, Pakistan
Jennifer Ko, LL.B. (https://www.linkedin.com/in/jennifer-ko-2755171b)
  • Completed M.A.Sc. and was awarded a Certificate of Excellence by the ECE Department for an outstanding thesis; Project: Lateral-inhibitory-network processing of spontaneous and speech-driven neural activity
  • Now the Senior Counsel, Legal & Intellectual Property at Husky Injection Molding Systems, Toronto, Ontario
Kamran Mustafa (http://www.linkedin.com/in/kamranmustafa)
  • Completed M.A.Sc. in ECE; Project: Robust formant tracking in noise
  • Now a Senior Manager, Amazon Lab126, Sunnyvale, CA
Siddharth Das (https://www.linkedin.com/in/siddharth-das-714723a6)
  • Undergraduate Student; Project: Synthesis of realistic speech for evaluation of speech-feature estimation algorithms
  • Now a Section Manager - Project Management and Controls at AMEC NSS, Thornhill, Ontario
Harjeet Bajaj (https://www.linkedin.com/in/harjeet-bajaj-b7914b1)
  • Undergraduate Student; Project: Lateral-inhibitory-network models of tinnitus
  • Now the CEO of Nanolytix Inc., Canada International Trade Services Inc., and Tiara Business Solutions Canada, Hamilton, Ontario
Dr.-Ing. Christoph P. Kallenberger (http://www.xing.com/profile/Christoph_Kallenberger)
  • Undergraduate Student; Project: Models of convergent auditory-nerve input onto coincidence-detector neurons in the cochlear nucleus
  • Now a Development Engineer, Automobile Industry, Leonberg, Germany

Created by Ian Bruce <ibruce@ieee.org> - last modified Friday, October 6, 2017